Our Platinum Members

WIL Africa Conference 2018

WIL Africa Conference 2018

Work-Integrated learning (WIL) creating value for the nation, the employers and students. Don’t miss the 3rd WIL Africa Conference on 18 – 20 July 2018, Africa’s premier platform for the development of WIL partnerships and sharing best practice. This SASCE conference will be co-hosted by Mangosuthu University of Technology (Lead Host), Durban University of Technology, Esayidi TVET College, Majuba TVET College, Mthashana TVET College, Thekwini TVET College and Umfolozi TVET College. Visit our page on the events tab for...
SASCE Delegation Study Tour to Western Digital (WD)

SASCE Delegation Study Tour to Western Digital (WD)

The SASCE Delegation to extract more value from the attendance of World Conference in Cooperative Education in Thailand also planned study visits to Thailand Institutions who are involved in the implementation of Cooperative and Work Integrated Education (CWIE) one of these was Western Digital (WD). WD is the largest manufacturer of hard drives in the world and a significant industry player in Thailand Co-operative and Work Integrated Education (CWIE). This company is also a believer and participant in the international student exchange programme, it hosts a number of Work Integrated Learning (WIL) students from a number of countries including South Africa. The Durban University of Technology (DUT) has leveraged this opportunity and sent a number of WIL students to Western Digital whilst in exchange hosting some Thai WIL students. The highlight of our visit to WD was the confirmation by participating students that the programme was indeed valuable to them and their future carriers whilst we were also shown the meaningful projects given to students to work on during their placement, some of the projects are taken at research and development stage. WD is open to expanding its partnership with other Institutions in SA on reciprocal basis, SASCE undertook to facilitate the exposure of its member institutions through the Thai Association for Cooperative Education (TACE) with whom SASCE has a Memorandum of Understanding. SASCE wishes extend its appreciation to TACE and WD for their hospitality and support during our visit. As a SASCE Member Institution if you want to leverage SASCE – TACE relationship and establish collaborative relationships with relevant Thai Institutions please feel free to contact our Administrator...



The WIL Africa 2016 Conference held on 20 – 22 September 2016 and the AGM on 21 September 2016 at University of Johannesburg (UJ) in Johannesburg was successful. Thank you to those that were able to the Africa’s Premier WIL conference.
The Conference attracted 250 people from universities, TVET colleges, SETAs, NSA, DHET, QCTO and industry.
The Conference delegate were welcomed by the SASCE outgoing President. UJ as the SASCE partner host University also welcomed the delegates. The highlights of the conference included the keynote address on Youth Employability in Jordan, followed by the address by Dr Patel of MerSETA, the WIL beneficiaries participated in the Student Panel. VUT and MUT our Partner Institutions and Coastal TVET College presented on “The role of Public Partnership on Student Employability”. QCTO, SACCI, SASOL and ABSA also contributed in policy and implementation perspectives.
The Member’s General Meeting was held on 21 September 2016. The AGM ratified the appointment of SASCE CEO and the minor changes in the constitution relating to separation of powers between the Board an EXCO to enhance accountability and governance. As a result of the amendment the President and Vice President will only chair the Board and will have no voting powers in EXCO. The elections of SASCE Office Bearers was conducted, the positions of President and Vice President were contested whilst the positions of Secretary and Treasurer were not contested. The contested positions were elected through the secret ballot and result were presented after counting to the delegates.
The following emerged as SASCE Office-bearers:
President: Mr Carva Pop
Vice-President: Mr Andile Sipengane
Treasurer: Mr Thomas Mafate
Secretary: Ms Fundi Nofemela
The remaining 4 positions on Exco will be filled at the first Board meeting in 2017.
Appreciation is conveyed to outgoing Exco members.
Appreciation also to Dr R Brink & her UJ team for their contribution towards a successful conference
Gratitude also to other sponsors: Gauteng Tourism, Cathsseta; NSA; DUT, UJ, ETDP, VUT, W&R Seta for their support.


Like Us On Facebook

Twitter Feed

Contact Us

6 + 10 =

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com