Our Platinum Members

WIL Africa Conference

Some institutions have opted to exclude Work Integrated Learning from their qualifications. How do you think this wil affect the employability of graduates?



The WIL Africa 2016 Conference held on 20 – 22 September 2016 and the AGM on 21 September 2016 at University of Johannesburg (UJ) in Johannesburg was successful. Thank you to those that were able to the Africa’s Premier WIL conference.
The Conference attracted 250 people from universities, TVET colleges, SETAs, NSA, DHET, QCTO and industry.
The Conference delegate were welcomed by the SASCE outgoing President. UJ as the SASCE partner host University also welcomed the delegates. The highlights of the conference included the keynote address on Youth Employability in Jordan, followed by the address by Dr Patel of MerSETA, the WIL beneficiaries participated in the Student Panel. VUT and MUT our Partner Institutions and Coastal TVET College presented on “The role of Public Partnership on Student Employability”. QCTO, SACCI, SASOL and ABSA also contributed in policy and implementation perspectives.
The Member’s General Meeting was held on 21 September 2016. The AGM ratified the appointment of SASCE CEO and the minor changes in the constitution relating to separation of powers between the Board an EXCO to enhance accountability and governance. As a result of the amendment the President and Vice President will only chair the Board and will have no voting powers in EXCO. The elections of SASCE Office Bearers was conducted, the positions of President and Vice President were contested whilst the positions of Secretary and Treasurer were not contested. The contested positions were elected through the secret ballot and result were presented after counting to the delegates.
The following emerged as SASCE Office-bearers:
President: Mr Carva Pop
Vice-President: Mr Andile Sipengane
Treasurer: Mr Thomas Mafate
Secretary: Ms Fundi Nofemela
The remaining 4 positions on Exco will be filled at the first Board meeting in 2017.
Appreciation is conveyed to outgoing Exco members.
Appreciation also to Dr R Brink & her UJ team for their contribution towards a successful conference
Gratitude also to other sponsors: Gauteng Tourism, Cathsseta; NSA; DUT, UJ, ETDP, VUT, W&R Seta for their support.


Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Twitter Feed

Contact Us

10 + 10 =

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com